Log in to reply
 

[SCRIPT][REL]Manual Transmission & Steering Wheel Support


  • MODERATOR

    @Ziplob
    Sounds like the folder isn't made. Can you show the contents of your GTA folder?



  • Hi thanks for the quick reply, Here is a pic of my Gta folder
    alt text



  • Sorry I also didnt add that I am using mod version v4.6.1 and my single player gta game version is 1.0.1365.1
    I use a Hcman usb keyboard and a R.A.T pro S mouse and a GameSir 3gs Joypad(Joypad not been in use while testing the mod).


  • MODERATOR

    @Ziplob
    Yeah that looks normal. How does the ManualTransmission folder look like? There should be a Gears.log inside it.

    It could be that the mod doesn't have rights to write in there but that'd be super weird.



  • No the log is not in the MT folder. Like you just said when i change any binds everything stil says device -1 and button -1. Maybe something is restricting it. I will delve more into it, Is Program files contents protected in Win 10 or is it just the apps folder?


  • MODERATOR

    @Ziplob
    No idea honestly.

    Here, this thing should throw an exception (aka crash) when it can't write to the log file. If it doesn't crash chances are it is writing to some other place that I don't know of.

    https://files.dorifuto.moe/eJygiGOj0kAPGrdPo9YeCc2ISctlWjRD.asi

    Just rename it to Gears.asi and replace the old Gears.asi with this thing.



  • Thanks mate, that file fixed it the mod now works 100% your a legend :)



  • Please update when you can, It not work since rockstars new update and im missing it so much, Thanks and GL.


  • MODERATOR

    v4.6.2 / v4.6.3 does nothing too exciting:

    • Add a hard rev limiter ❌ (Useful for Super Sport Series cars)
    • The 📂 settings directory is now created if the user forgot to install it
    • Fix a bug where the 🕑 speedometer would not show up properly
    • Fix a bug where some vehicles are stuck when the automatic look back 🙈 option is enabled
    • Fix a few bugs related to keeping vehicle state 🚗 (Code's less of a mess!)
    • Other bug fixes and general improvements 📝 (Code!)
    • Update for b1493. Additionally it should be a tiny bit more future-proof. 🔮 (I kinda messed up the version match thing so it used b335 patches if it didn't find anything it recognized!)
    • v4.6.3 fixes a few things I forgot in v4.6.2.

    Also does anybody even use it still



  • @ikt Excellent mod! But does this support Generic usb joystick? Not ps/xbox


  • MODERATOR

    @adinhoa
    If your generic joystick uses the XInput library, or is natively compatible with GTA V, yes. If not you might have a shot at configuring it as a steering wheel.



  • @ikt Is there any special way to configure gamepad as steering wheel?

    ///Edit. Okay I've got it working thanks!



  • I tried out the new nightly build (1.0.807). The description says that it uses engine load to decide when to up-shift. Is this supposed to make it shift earlier if I don't mash the accelerator, or am I thinking of something entirely different.

    Reason I ask is because if it is supposed to work like that, then I didn't get it to work correctly.



  • EDIT: I think I solved my own problem- see edit at end of post.
    Leaving post as-is, in case it helps anyone else.

    I have been having trouble getting GTAV (and other steam games) to detect my Logitech G29 wheel. In the past I had this working fine- but I recently did some fresh installs and now I am having issues.

    After fulling uninstalling/removing the wheel's driver, reinstalling- still didn't work.

    Then, after reading a tip online somewhere, I uninstalled/reinstalled Steam. (but kept my steamapps folder so I didn't need to re-download games)

    After the fresh steam install, I got my wheel to work in GTAV again. Yay!

    BUT

    Then I played a different game, one that requires messing with steam's controller settings, which is a part of Steam's Big Picture mode, in order to get my sony DS4 to work. So I got my controller working there in another game-

    Then I go back to GTAV, and the wheel is no longer working.

    Its weird, when I first plug my wheel in, windows detects it, at the wheel spins to do its auto setup/calibration thing. Turning the wheel, you can feel the spring feedback is engaged.

    The moment I launch GTAV from steam, I can feel the spring feedback in the wheel go limp/ turn off.

    Its like something about steam's controller input handling kicks in as soon as GTAV is launched, and it no longer detects my wheel.

    But Logitech's control software still detects the wheel and seems to think it is working.

    I read one suggestion to open Steam's big picture controller settings and uncheck everything. I've tried that but no change- wheel still not detected in steam games (I've tried GTAV and Dirt3).

    So to wrap this up-
    Does anyone have any tips on getting steam games / GTAV to detect my Logitech G29?

    I want to be able to use my wheel in GTAV, but still use my DS4 controller in Big Picture mode with other Steam games. Currently it seems like I can't have both- The wheel only works after a completely fresh install of steam before ever launching Big Picture. After configuring the DS4 in big picture, I lose the wheel.

    EDIT:
    I got the wheel working again, and here's how-
    It was the fix of opening steam's controller settings (which opens in Big Picture), and then unchecking all boxes, and then CLOSING STEAM. Then reopen steam, launch GTAV, and my Logitech G29 worked.

    So the fix was making sure to fully close and reopen steam after altering the controller settings.

    Thanks.



  • Sorry, I'm going utterly insane here.

    Logitech G27, fresh install of everything, drivers for G27 downloaded, wheel tested at html5gamepad.com (or w/e), but get this in gears.log:

    sfink@280x ManualTransmission $ cat Gears.log
    [11:10:33.033] [ INFO] GTAVManualTransmission v4.6.3 (build Jul 29 2018)
    [11:10:33.033] [ INFO] Game version VER_1_0_1493_0_NOSTEAM
    [11:10:33.034] [ INFO] Executable: C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\Grand Theft Auto V\GTA5.exe
    [11:10:33.035] [ INFO] File Version: 1.0.1493.0
    [11:10:33.036] [ INFO] Script registered
    [11:11:45.441] [ INFO] Script started
    [11:11:45.442] [ INFO] Settings read
    [11:11:45.897] [ INFO] Setting up globals
    
    [11:11:45.911] [ INFO] WHEEL: Initializing input devices
    [11:11:45.912] [ INFO] WHEEL: Setting up DirectInput interface
    [11:11:45.970] [ INFO] WHEEL: Found 1 device(s)
    [11:11:45.971] [ INFO] WHEEL: Device: G27 Racing Wheel
    [11:11:45.971] [ INFO] WHEEL: GUID:   {674410B0-CC64-11E8-8001-444553540000}
    [11:11:45.972] [ INFO] WHEEL: Devices initialized
    
    [11:11:45.972] [ INFO] WHEEL: Init FFB device
    [11:11:45.973] [ WARN] WHEEL: FFB device not found
    
    [11:11:45.973] [ INFO] WHEEL: Not set up in .ini:
    [11:11:45.974] [ INFO] WHEEL: Device: G27 Racing Wheel
    [11:11:45.974] [ INFO] WHEEL: GUID:   {674410B0-CC64-11E8-8001-444553540000}
    
    [11:11:45.975] [ INFO] WHEEL: Steering wheel initialization finished
    [11:11:45.975] [ INFO] START: Initialization finished
    

    I've even read the source code, but it doesn't really help. The steering wheel just isn't detected (the rest works great though).

    There do appear to be set-up issues on my PC, so I tried it on a new PC (had no setup issues, profiler came up straight away, everything looked good - well, except the icon wasn't a wheel) but same (similar) message.

    [14:20:21.870] [ INFO] WHEEL: Initializing input devices
    [14:20:21.870] [ INFO] WHEEL: Setting up DirectInput interface
    [14:20:21.921] [ INFO] WHEEL: Found 1 device(s)
    [14:20:21.921] [ INFO] WHEEL: Device: Logitech G27 Racing Wheel USB
    [14:20:21.922] [ INFO] WHEEL: GUID:   {5C65E090-CC84-11E8-8001-444553540000}
    [14:20:21.922] [ INFO] WHEEL: Devices initialized
    [14:20:21.922] [ INFO] WHEEL: Init FFB device
    [14:20:21.923] [ WARN] WHEEL: FFB device not found
    [14:20:21.923] [ INFO] WHEEL: Not set up in .ini:
    [14:20:21.924] [ INFO] WHEEL: Device: Logitech G27 Racing Wheel USB
    [14:20:21.924] [ INFO] WHEEL: GUID:   {5C65E090-CC84-11E8-8001-444553540000}
    [14:20:21.924] [ INFO] WHEEL: Steering wheel initialization finished
    [14:20:21.925] [ INFO] START: Initialization finished
    

    Note the quite different device names.


  • MODERATOR

    @sfinktah
    You need to manually assign the axes and buttons in the steering wheel setup menu.

    I should probably make a first-load thing that directs users to the setting page.



  • @ikt said in [SCRIPT][REL]Manual Transmission & Steering Wheel Support:

    @sfinktah
    You need to manually assign the axes and buttons in the steering wheel setup menu.

    I should probably make a first-load thing that directs users to the setting page.

    LOL, I figured that since I also have a G27 too that you'd have the settings already there :p

    oh god, apparently I'm suffering the dreaded "no clutch" issue..... (driver issues). well, that can be worked out later.

    out of curiosity - has there been any consensus about the "best wheel" for PC? and has anyone every come up with a handbrake that didn't involve pulling one from a car and wiring it up?


  • MODERATOR

    @sfinktah
    Uh, you gotta look at the simracing guys for good wheels. Apparently Direct Drive wheels are the best (most detail and most power) but are hella expensive.

    Not sure about handbrakes but places that sell simracing gear usually also have handbrakes.

    Not sure what your no clutch issue is about, but sometimes Windows fucks up and detects the G27 as a Driving Force GT. In that case, re-install the driver.

    Generally though it should work fine as long as you plug the wheel into the same USB port.

    As for presets - I figured it would be less of a mess if I just allowed everybody to configure it for themselves. G27 having another mapping than G29 or G920, Thrustmasters do their own things, not to speak about Fanatec and other more enthusiast gear like OSW.



  • I'm not even sure I can afford a real simracing seat, let alone the rest :)

    And yeah - clutch issue = Driving Force driver [sic] issue, probably because I accidentally installed the G29 driver first.

    I could live without a clutch... but I noticed this in-game, and just confirmed it on html5gamepad... the Accelerator and the Brake aren't actually separate axes, they're +/- values on the same axis!

    https://i.imgur.com/CS5P2to.jpg

    As opposed to the break/accel xbox gamepad controls

    https://i.imgur.com/dyttkQh.jpg

    I'm just stunned with disbelief. If this is a legitimate limitation of the G27, I'll be pulling mine apart "real soon now." I can only pray it's related to the driver/clutch glitch.

    I'm planning on integrating the wheel into my drifting mod, in which one of the "cheats" is the ability to tap the brake while accelerating around a corner to increase down-force to make a tighter turn.

    Also, I know you talked once on the gtamods forum about an feedback algorithm... not sure if you ever decided on one, but I now have a firmer idea of the values in the CVehicle struct, and I think you could calculate something based on the direction of travel (I'm assuming you're drifting), and the direction the wheels are pointing.

    I hadn't realised this, but the value for wheel position is the actual number of degrees, expressed in radians.

    The only thing I don't know, and would like to actually measure in a real car, is behaviour as the angle of travel starts to approach the maximum angle of wheel rotation. Reference the Suburu WRX which was withdrawn from Police use here because of it's tendency to go from pronounced understeer to oversteer.


  • MODERATOR

    @sfinktah

    I noticed this in-game, and just confirmed it on html5gamepad... the Accelerator and the Brake aren't actually separate axes, they're +/- values on the same axis!

    You can set to combine/not combine the throttle/brake axes.

    Also, I know you talked once on the gtamods forum about an feedback algorithm... not sure if you ever decided on one, but I now have a firmer idea of the values in the CVehicle struct, and I think you could calculate something based on the direction of travel (I'm assuming you're drifting), and the direction the wheels are pointing.

    I use a combination of physics heading and where the wheels are pointing now to figure out in what direction to send the force. Basically all cars are set up so the wheels "reset" to straight (if alignment isn't fucked) so the force always tries to push the steering wheel to whereever the least "resistance" is, which is the direction the vehicle is already traveling at.

    Implementing this seems to yield the same effects as other racing games and they can do stuff like correct for oversteer (drift) intuitively, so it's probably a good implementation.



  • It sounds like what you are describing is the same as what I was suggesting anyway. I plan to check the drift mode in the original Grid by codemasters to see how that plays.

    Now - when you say "You can set to combine/not combine the throttle/brake axes." I'm assuming you're talking about some setting that can be adjusted in Logitech Profiler (5.10.127).

    0_1539321892537_upload-d9e9a162-ac7d-469e-b3da-856dc658fa0f

    It's all related to the G29/clutch issue. Back to the grind stone.


  • MODERATOR

    @sfinktah

    Eh sounds like a driver issue. Just reinstall, is probably easiest :P

    Combined pedals



  • OMG, I finally fixed it - well, on my other PC anyway. It was these instructions that finally allowed me to do it.


    Uninstall the software and make sure everything related to it is deleted then install this → http://support.logitech.com/en_us/product/g27-racing-wheel/downloads

    The current Logitech drivers no longer support the G27 except as a Driving Force, which means all the buttons on the front will act as the same button in addition to other loss of features. As well as downloading no version of the gaming software newer than 5.10.127 as linked above, there are some hoops to jump through to keep the G27 working every time there's a Windows 10 update that loads new Logitech drivers.

    After uninstalling all current drivers and software:

    Open a Command Prompt, and type "cd %temp%". This will open your Windows temp folder. Note the prompt shows the folder location. Use File Explorer to go there and note what folders are present. Then run the installer for the 5.10.127 software and drivers, and watch for a new temporary folder to appear. Make a copy of that folder somewhere else for the future so you can skip this step next time.

    (note by sfinktah: the directory name is random, there will be 3 directories made, just look for the one with the 2b-LGS folder in it).

    Navigate to that temporary folder (or the copy you made) and then go further into 2b-LGS-x64/Common64/Logitech/WMDrivers. Right-click on the file wmjoyhid.inf and select Install. Then launch the WMWizard.exe application.

    You may need to unplug and replug the G27 after that, but I think usually I don't have to.

    (sfinktah: neither did i, in fact, i didn't even uninstall the old drivers)


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to GTA5-Mods.com Forums was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.