Log in to reply
 

[Tutorial | Vehicles/Weapons] How to do: Add-On's / Replacer's



  • Hi i have a folder from my murcielago with "lang"(language) in wich folder come this? and what can i do when i have more cars with "lang" folders?

    1 picture (for car language): in wich folder come this in my carpack?



  • Sorry to revive an old thread but..
    Man, I am trying to combine 4 vehicles into one addon dlc but its driving me crazy. I am not good with putting multiple addons into one dlc one vehicle and 3 lore friendly helicopters just to avoid game crashing. I would pay someone to do it for me but I am low on funds at the moment. What do you guys recommend?
    I am just trying to do these vehicles..
    https://www.gta5-mods.com/vehicles/imponte-deluxo-add-on-replace-tuning
    https://www.gta5-mods.com/vehicles/lifeguard-maverick-add-on-livery
    https://www.gta5-mods.com/vehicles/sparrow-add-on
    https://www.gta5-mods.com/vehicles/buckingham-maverick-2nd-generation-add-on-liveries



  • Alright I installed a few addons but not combined into one dlc
    Heres what I have installed..
    https://www.gta5-mods.com/vehicles/lifeguard-maverick-add-on-livery
    https://www.gta5-mods.com/vehicles/sparrow-add-on
    https://www.gta5-mods.com/vehicles/buckingham-maverick-2nd-generation-add-on-liveries
    and
    https://www.gta5-mods.com/maps/beta-vegetation-props-add-on
    I didn't get any memory errors, game started right up but after some time flying around the game closes out and just tells me "GTAV exited Unexpectedly retry in safe mode?"
    Anyone know what could cause this? Once the mem errors go away, I get something else. Gah!!


  • MODERATOR

    @TrustNo1 Hello.

    I've never had the problem you've mentioned in your previous comment, but as you've installed the Add-Ons individually you can try disabling them 1 by 1 and trying to do the same (flying around to see if the crash occurs again) each time you disable one in dlclist.xml file.

    If the crash only happens since you've installed the 4 mods mentioned above, then one of them is the problem and disabling them 1 by 1 you'll find which one.



  • Hi, Im having mostly success with this method, but a few mods which come with additional .meta files (an example is this mod from skylineGTRFreak: https://www.gta5-mods.com/vehicles/armed-solar-associated-treaty-organization-apc-add-on) such as weapon'vehicle'.meta. Ive not figured out how to make these work with the base folder, and as such, the specific weapon configuration for these add ons doesnt work, which, in some cases, leaves a vehicle which should have a weapon, without a weapon.

    There are others too (specifically ones which have their own weapons.rpf files, and even more additional .meta files(example: https://www.gta5-mods.com/vehicles/f-22-raptor) which I cannot get to work at all without causing my game to crash. Any help is appreciated.


  • MODERATOR

    @fraggz99 Hi, to make work the new/additional .meta files in your own Add-On, you have to edit the content.xml file. If the vehicles you've downloaded are already separated Add-Ons, open the content.xml of those and search by the name of the weapons .meta file, you'll find 2 results that contains the name of the weapon_name_file_here.meta. Just copy and paste them into the content.xml of your own Add-On, but putting them in their respective section.

    Remember that the content.xml file is the one that indicates the game which files have to load from the Add-On, so if you don't put them here the game won't load such files.

    About the ones with weapons.rpf, maybe the weapons are not supported anymore because of the latest game updates and that's why they crash. I've experienced some errors because of that in the past and had to delete some military vehicles or remove their weapons files because were outdated. It may/can happen too with the ".meta" files, take care about that.



  • @Reyser
    Okay I will look into the addons but I have never had this type of issue until After Hours dlc. I guess its a launcher problem, heres a the error portion of my launcher log..
    [2018-08-14 17:53:21.276] [DISPLAY] Version: |1.0.1493.0|1.2.4.0|1.0.1493.0|FSP
    [2018-08-14 17:53:21.747] [DISPLAY] OS version: Major: 6, Minor: 1, Build: 7601, Platform: 2
    [2018-08-14 17:53:23.603] [DISPLAY] Steam initialized successfully
    [2018-08-14 17:53:23.608] [DISPLAY] Steam id: 76561198308443967
    [2018-08-14 17:53:23.613] [DISPLAY] Steam offline: FALSE
    [2018-08-14 17:53:23.617] [DISPLAY] Steam persona: TrustNo0ne1031
    [2018-08-14 17:53:23.642] [DISPLAY] Social Club initializing...
    [2018-08-14 17:53:24.153] [DISPLAY] Attempting to create device...
    [2018-08-14 17:53:24.157] [DISPLAY] Attempting to initialise DX9 COM object...
    [2018-08-14 17:53:24.175] [DISPLAY] Window size: 690 x 496
    [2018-08-14 17:53:24.221] [DISPLAY] Successfully created DX Device!
    [2018-08-14 17:53:32.051] [DISPLAY] Geo: US
    [2018-08-14 17:53:44.448] [DISPLAY] Launching game...
    [2018-08-14 17:53:44.453] [DISPLAY] (path: C:\Users\MAIN PC\Desktop\PC Games\Steam\steamapps\common\Grand Theft Auto V\GTA5.exe cmdline: "C:\Users\MAIN PC\Desktop\PC Games\Steam\steamapps\common\Grand Theft Auto V\GTA5.exe")
    [2018-08-14 17:54:02.635] [WARNING] Device lost.
    [2018-08-14 17:54:02.636] [WARNING] Resetting device...
    [2018-08-14 17:54:02.973] [WARNING] Reset failed with D3DERR_DEVICELOST.
    [2018-08-14 17:58:57.140] [WARNING] Resetting device...
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.109] [ ERROR ] GameComm: ReadFile failed.
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.126] [DISPLAY] Reset succeeded.
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.667] [DISPLAY] Game exited with code 0xc00000fd
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.667] [ ERROR ] Unable to stat out-file!
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.669] [ ERROR ] ************************************************************************
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.669] [ ERROR ] * Setting error condition
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.670] [ ERROR ] * Category: 1 (ERROR_CATEGORY_LAUNCHER)
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.671] [ ERROR ] * Code: 107 (LAUNCHER_ERR_GAME_CRASHED)
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.671] [ ERROR ] * Extra:
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.671] [ ERROR ] * Localised: Launcher error. Code: 107
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.671] [ ERROR ] ************************************************************************
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.674] [ ERROR ] Unable to read out-file!
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.676] [ ERROR ] ************************************************************************
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.676] [ ERROR ] * Setting error condition
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.677] [ ERROR ] * Category: 5 (ERROR_CATEGORY_EXIT_CODE)
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.677] [ ERROR ] * Code: -1073741571 (c00000fd)
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.678] [ ERROR ] * Extra:
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.678] [ ERROR ] * Localised: Grand Theft Auto V exited unexpectedly.

    Please click Retry below to enter the game again, or click Safe Mode to launch the game with reduced graphics settings.

    If you continue to have problems playing the game, please contact Rockstar Games Customer Service at http://support.rockstargames.com
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.678] [ ERROR ] ************************************************************************
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.681] [ ERROR ] Exit code 0xc00000fd indicates a game crash (unknown cause)
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.692] [ ERROR ] Unable to clear in-file and out-file!
    [2018-08-14 17:59:19.878] [DISPLAY] Uninitializing.

    Usually if its an addon issue, I would get Memory errors and the game would freeze. This time the launcher crashes and gives me the above error codes. What do you think it means? It happens after 3-5 minutes of plaing the game. Man this is frustrating. :(


  • MODERATOR

    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.109] [ ERROR ] GameComm: ReadFile failed.
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.126] [DISPLAY] Reset succeeded.
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.667] [DISPLAY] Game exited with code 0xc00000fd
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.667] [ ERROR ] Unable to stat out-file!
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.669] [ ERROR ] ************************************************************************
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.669] [ ERROR ] * Setting error condition
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.670] [ ERROR ] * Category: 1 (ERROR_CATEGORY_LAUNCHER)
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.671] [ ERROR ] * Code: 107 (LAUNCHER_ERR_GAME_CRASHED)
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.671] [ ERROR ] * Extra:
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.671] [ ERROR ] * Localised: Launcher error. Code: 107
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.671] [ ERROR ] ************************************************************************
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.674] [ ERROR ] Unable to read out-file!
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.676] [ ERROR ] ************************************************************************
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.676] [ ERROR ] * Setting error condition
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.677] [ ERROR ] * Category: 5 (ERROR_CATEGORY_EXIT_CODE)
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.677] [ ERROR ] * Code: -1073741571 (c00000fd)
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.678] [ ERROR ] * Extra:
    [2018-08-14 17:58:59.678] [ ERROR ] * Localised: Grand Theft Auto V exited unexpectedly.
    

    From what I can see in the lines above, the game says that's unable to read a file ("[ ERROR ] GameComm: ReadFile failed."), but doesn't specifies which one and/or why.

    I have no clue about what can be the problem, such error never happened to me. Do you always do the same in-game before it crashes? Like spawning a vehicle with a trainer and drive/pilot or something?



  • I have combined 2 vehicle but the tuning parts dont work.



  • I found this very useful and easy to understand with all questions & answers from other users. not all mods have the same structure, some you might have to add/edit and combine more *.meta files and add it to content.xml like the *contentunlock.meta , etc.
    I combined 10 addons, some of them have tune parts, additional wheels..etc and it's working fine up to now. i spent many hours to setup and compare between the first 4 mods but after that it's more easy/clear and you can add more and more in just few minutes.



  • So I did the first pack successfully, and everything was working fine up to when I decide to make my 2nd pack which contain another 10 addons cars. the game load normally but No I can't spawn any of the 2nd pack cars with error msg " Invalid model" , i spent a couple of hours trying to figure out the issue and then i decided to change this line in setup2.xml in the 2nd pack.

    <order value="11" />
    change it from 9 (like the 1st pack ) to 11 , and it worked I can spawn 2nd pack cars.

    I have no idea what is this "order value" for, I've seen other dlc shares the same value with no issues, if someone have any idea what is this value for please explain :) and if someone have the same issue you might consider this solution too.


  • MODERATOR

    @develo It's the order for the game to load the DLCs. If there's a DLC with a 9 value and another one with a 10 value, the priority for the game will be the lower value which is the "9" and it'll load first.



  • @Reyser said in [Tutorial | Vehicles/Weapons] How to do: Add-On's / Replacer's:

    For "<dataFiles>" section:
    <Item>
    <filename>dlc_FOLDERNAME:/%PLATFORM%/vehiclemods/car_mods.rpf</filename>
    <fileType>RPF_FILE</fileType>
    <locked value="true"/>
    <disabled value="true"/>
    <persistent value="true"/>
    <overlay value="true"/>
    </Item>

    For "<filesToEnable>" section:
    <Item>dlc_FOLDERNAME:/%PLATFORM%/vehiclemods/car_mods.rpf</Item>

    I think I followed all instructions very well. I used the Vehicles DLC Folder #2, which has the "tuning_mods.rpf" since I know some of the cars I want to add in have tuning parts. For users like me, shouldn't the above instructions reference "vehiclemods/tuning_mods.rpf" since that's what's in Vehicle DLC Folder #2?

    I ask because I was able to add in Scrat's Lambo Reventon but at first, when I went to spawn it through a mod, it was listed under NULL, and none of the proper titles came up for it (for instance, when I entered the car, it just said ", Super", and none of the parts in Los Santos Customs had names, they just had blank spaces and the price - although they do preview on the car).

    So I added the /x64/data/lang/americandlc/global.gxt2 from the Reventon's rpf to my base folder's dlc.rpf (my base folder is named abc1, so I added the file as "mods\update\x64\dlcpacks\abc1\dlc.rpf\x64\data\lang\americandlc.rpf\global.gxt2").

    Now, it has the proper make and model info in the spawner mod, and when I enter the car, the make and model come up. Yay! But when I go to Los Santos Customs, only some of the parts names come up. For example, now the Bumper names come up, but not the spoliers or skirts.

    Any idea what may be going wrong? This is the first and only car I've added in.

    Pics: https://pasteboard.co/I56Wec1.jpg after adding the global file, the name comes up, as well as now the bumper names: https://pasteboard.co/I574A25.jpg but for some reason, missing names for skirts: https://pasteboard.co/I575im6.jpg and other parts.


  • MODERATOR

    @nasch007

    The "car_mods.rpf" and "tuning_mods.rpf" names are just an example for the tutorial and the DLC folders. You can rename them in your own DLC with a better name if you want. I really recommend this if you're going to put more than 1 RPF for tuning parts of different vehicles.

    About the car and tuning parts names, if they're NULL is because there are no hashes specified for the names. With the "global.gxt2" that you moved from the original mod RPF to yours, the hashes of the car and tuning parts names are now included. Maybe SCRAT forgot to include the missing tuning parts names?



  • @Reyser
    Thank you very much for such a speedy reply. Regarding the tuning parts, using your method, I can continue to add all tuning parts from all replace cars I find into that one tuning_mods.rpf file, as long as they have different names, correct?

    As far as the missing parts names, I wonder if anyone else has added this particular Lambo Reventon and can vouch that their tuning parts names pop up. I will check the comments page on that download.

    I am not at home right now I'm at work, but I do not believe he forgot to include the hashes for the missing parts. Perhaps they are incorrect, though? I saw in one of these tutorials how to calculate, it was based off of the Car ID, right? Is that in one of your tutorials?

    Thanks again, and this is definitely a 5-star rating once I get it going.


  • MODERATOR

    @nasch007 Yes, you can add as much tuning parts as you want to a single tuning_mods.rpf, but I don't recommend it. That's because you don't know if someday you would want to uninstall a car that have tuning parts there, and you'll have to figure which are one-by-one or rename them all first when installing the vehicles, which is an unnecessary waste of time.

    I think the hashes are based on each part name (the name that identifies them individually in the carcols.meta file), but I'm not sure about that. I never put the names on my own Add-Ons so I can't verify that. If you need help with that, you can create a topic here in Forums or ask directly on our Discord server, I'm sure you'll find people that can help you with the tuning parts names hashes.

    You're following the right path to add vehicles to the game, so keep going ;)



  • @Reyser
    I'm not worried about uninstalling and having remainders in there at the moment - I'm planning to keep it small and do a 'proof of concept' so I can really get an idea of how it works. That being said, the parts are renamed according to car (i.e. reventon_boot_1.yft) so removing them later if I ditch the car shouldn't be a hassle I don't think.

    I opened up the gxt2 file and I see:

    0x05D2A215 = Painted splitter
    0x2DCA9CE0 = Painted spoiler
    0x3B6A381F = Carbon fiber spoiler
    0x9FEE6E13 = Carbon fiber bonnet
    0x782AA152 = Carbon fiber skirts
    0x6439658D = Sport carbon fiber boot
    0xABC889D5 = Painted skirts
    0xAC6B8829 = Lamborghini
    0xC7D5F5FB = Reventon
    0xFC3C8EE9 = Carbon fiber splitter

    Hash of the car is correct since it shows in the add-on spawn menu and in Los Santos. The titles for Painted splitter and Carbon fiber splitter also show, so their hashes must be correct also. So I guess I just have to assume the rest are incorrect and correct them. Does that sound like I'm on the right track? I will look to see where that was mentioned. If I get everything all working together I'll post back and also 5 star this mod. Thank you for your hard work and also your support!


  • MODERATOR

    @nasch007 Yeah, try to redo the hashes that are not working in-game with the OpenIV tool, maybe they're incorrect or not valid anymore for some reason (maybe with the successive game updates some stopped working? Idk).

    And yeah, you're completing your own Add-On including the vehicle and tuning parts names which technically is more than what this tutorial teachs, so you're doing great right now :)



  • @Reyser
    Thanks!

    I did try to redo the hashes using OpenIV's hash generator. The make "Lamborghini" was the same, as was the model "Reventon", but the hex codes for the parts did change. Unfortunately, they still didn't show up in Los Santos menus. I tried the Case Sensitive option and all the hex codes changed and none of them showed up.

    So I kept reading some of your questions and eventually I used the
    "tuningpartfilename = Part Name In Shop"
    formula, and everything shows up now except the side skirts and the spoilers. I'm not sure why. I got the list of vanilla tuner parts names and maybe I'll try and sub a generic one in place of those missing ones. In any case, I do have a question:

    Following your guide, I then stumbled upon I'm not Mental's guide: https://www.imnotmental.com/guide/add-on-vehicles-tutorial/ he has some extra steps, using the content unlocks.meta and shop_vehicle.meta files... is there a reason he tells us to edit these but your guide doesn't? Which is more better/preferred/more stable?


  • MODERATOR

    @nasch007 I'm not sure about the "contentunlocks.meta" and "shop_vehicle.meta" files, the second one afaik is for the vehicles information that shows on the game website shops. I think is the file that makes you see a vehicle available to buy on the GTA:Online websites.

    About the "contentunlocks.meta" you can include it if you want, but I haven't noticed any changes when I included and removed it from my own vehicles pack. Is something that I can't really tell what it does and if is needed for SP or not...

    The I'm Not Mental's guide is good, have seen it a long time ago. It mentions some more extra steps than my tutorial, but most of them are not mandatory for most of the people. That's why I wanted to keep mine as simple as possible and I didn't include them. As you're going to do a complete DLC, it may help you too to take a look at it.



  • @Reyser
    I'll stick with your guide as I'd rather keep it as simple as possible. That being said, I did add another Add-on vehicle last night, the Porsche GT3 it is gorgeous. Everything works like a charm except I had to go into vehicles.meta and rename it (was being called the pfister something or other). I then had to hash the make and model, and add them to the global. Once I did that, it's perfect. I've one last thing to try with the tuning parts for the Lambo Reventon and that's to try and use the generic tuning parts names in the "identifier" section in one of the metas.

    Anyway one question I did run in to with the Porsche - it included a file /data/ai/vehiclelayouts.meta. I included this file in the content.xml and made a place for it in my base folder (I copied the structure from the download so it's /abc1/dlc.rpf/data/ai/vehiclelayouts.meta). Is this file necessary to duplicate, and what exactly does it do? Will the game crash or malfunction if I were to leave it out?

    Thanks again for all your help!


  • MODERATOR

    @nasch007 The vehiclelayouts.meta file is used to define the different layouts of every vehicle of the game. For example, if you install a RHD vehicle mod, you'll have to define his own layouts yourself because the game does not have any RHD vehicle by default. If you install a vehicle that needs custom layouts (for the seats positions, etc) without them, it'll likely crash when you try to use it.

    Situations when the vehiclelayouts.meta file is needed:
    1.- If you add a vehicle to the game as Add-On and when you press 'Enter' to go into the car the game crashes: This is because the game can't find the layouts for the added vehicle. You must add them to the vehiclelayouts.meta file of your Add-On.
    2.- If you enter the car from the wrong side (if it's RHD and you enter from the left or viceversa): In this case the vehicle needs the correct layouts to fix the problem, and must be specified on the vehiclelayouts.meta file for the mentioned vehicle.

    If your add-on works without such file, is because the vehicle uses the same layouts as one or more vanilla vehicles



  • @Reyser
    Roger that, I will try and keep it the way it is, since it is working now, why break a good thing?
    I tried several different methods to make the tuning parts work for the Lambo Reventon, but I've had zero luck with getting the names for the side skirts and spoilers to show up. I've tried rehashing, I've tried changing the modkit id (it shows up as 113 in the trainer I use, but was set to 175 in the meta files), I've tried using generic MNU_SKIRT as the <identifier> in the cols.meta... I'm at my wits' end as far as that goes.

    I do have another question though. Using your mod, can I add other mods into it, and when do I need to add to content.xml?

    For example, there is a mod that is called Get A Grip that improves traction and handling. It does so by editing the materials.dat file. If I copy the layout/structure from this mod, (update/update.rpf/common/data/materials/materials.dat) into my mod (mods\update\x64\dlcpacks\abc1\dlc.rpf\common\data\materials\materials.dat) will it work? Do I need to 'declare' it in the content.xml? If so, what 'type' would it be? Sorry to be general, but I think you get what I'm saying? I'm at work I can be more specific when I get home...


  • MODERATOR

    @nasch007 About the Modkit ID, I'd use a different value for the Add-On vehicle, as the "175" is already being used by a different vehicle of the game and maybe it can conflict with some vanilla tuning parts (maybe is this the problem?).

    To know from which value you can add new IDs to the Add-Ons, you just need to know how many vehicles does the game have by default. For example, if it has 500 vehicles, you can start using IDs from 501 and above that are the unused ones. Don't forget that with the game updates R* keeps adding new vehicles, so the number of IDs used by the game increases each time.

    About your question, yes you can and if you add new content (new folder paths and files) you should add them to the 2 sections the content.xml file have. This is the file that tells the game which files have to load from this DLC, so the paths must be specified in there. But one thing, the content.xml file is not always the same, it depends on what you want to add to your DLC. I recommend you to take a look at the different content.xml files of the game, so you can see that they work different for each kind of file (.rpf, .xml, .ybn, etc). This is something you'll have to investigate yourself depending on the kind of mods you want to install.

    One important thing about the "update.rpf" file: This file is, somehow, the "core" of the game files. This means that every file that's in there can't be replaced with DLCs in "update/x64/dlcpacks/". Basically all the files that are in update.rpf are the priority ones, so doing modified copies and putting them on custom DLCs will have no effect. The game always will load the update.rpf ones, no matter what you do on "update/x64/dlcpacks/". I think this answers your question about the materials.dat example you asked me.



  • @Reyser
    Ok I'll try to change the id to something like 913 and see if that works. The number I type in is the number it assigns, correct? As in, it's not hashed or converted to an 8-bit value or anything weird, correct? And just to be certain, the value that is in the carcols.meta <kitname><idvalue="913" />...is the value I am changing, correct? If the spawn addon cars trainer/mod reports a different id, is that normal? Sorry for so many questions I just really can't understand why this particular part isn't working when everything seems to be linked up and set up properly. I am using a vanilla gameconfig.xml, do you think that would have an impact? I thought it shouldn't if I'm only adding one or two addon cars to begin with...

    So what I understand from your reply is, don't bother adding in mods like Get a Grip, etc. to my /abc1/ dlc because the files in mods/update.rpf will take precedence no matter what. This is true even with the "<order value="9" />" tag in the setup2.xml? Like even if I put my dlc as the highest value?

    Thank you again for clarifying!!


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to GTA5-Mods.com Forums was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.