How to install and play mod games

• Hi all. I am completely new to pc gaming and my son is at me to install mods. I have absolutely no idea what I am doing. I've watched countless videos and read up on things. I have managed to get the mod trainer where I can spawn in vehicles etc but trying to play script mods is really not happening. I've uninstalled the game and removed all files so I now have a blank canvas so to speak. If someone can explain as plainly as possible the steps I need to do it would be much appreciated. Thank you.

• Jestersdead83, Been there, done that, wrote the book, made the movie and still have a 't-shirt' left!

All I can say 'modding' isn't hard...it ain't easy either! First thing is to take it slow. You can easily destroy your game files when you know what to do and make a mistake (done that) let alone when just starting out. So here's the 'plan':

Start out with just a trainer. The one's I recommend to start with are; Simple Trainer and Enhanced Native Trainer. You get 'Native Trainer' with Scripthook, but it's really basic and will be frustrating if you want to do more than just work with the three main characters. Get used to using the trainers and learn what they can do before you get onto other things.

Next, try more advanced trainers. There's Map Editor and Menyoo. Map Editor is more for basic building while Menyoo is both a trainer and a building platform. Both are dense with controls and capabilities which is why you should get a handle on learning how to use basic trainers first. Once you get familiar with either or both of these, then move to the next stage.