GTA5 911 Help and Checklist - What to do when Mods make you Mad

• This is a series of hopefully simple videos aimed to help you troubleshoot Mod issues. We won't cover how to install basic mods such as Open IV or ScripthookV, nor will we address mod specific issues because there are just too many mods to cover. Instead we give you the nuts and bolts of getting a modded system to run properly. Mod specific issues should be posted in the Installation Help & Troubleshooting section of the forum, in their own thread.

Level: Absolute beginner, beginner, curious intermediate. Jump to Checklist if you prefer. To search these forums, use this syntax:
    Example site:forums.gta5-mods.com vehicles.meta

Part 1.The Absolute Basics.

First video is just to confirm you have installed the right files in the right folders to run Mods. View full screen on YouTube at 1080P for best readability.

Part 2. Where lies the Problem.

In this next part for absolute beginners, we cover a very general overview of where the problem or problems you encounter might reside.

Part 3.Two very important files: gameconfig.xml and dlclist.xml.

We take a look at where these two files should be installed, warn the beginner against trying to modify gameconfig.xml, and provide a simple tip on how to edit dlclist.xml to avoid syntax errors which would result in invalid models or other errors.

• Part 4.The Mods Folder From Windows.

In part 4 of our series we verify the correct structure of the critical user Mods folder as seen from Windows Explorer. YouTube at 1080P for best readability.

Part 5.The Mods Folder From Open IV

In part 5 of our series we verify the correct structure of the critical user Mods folder again, but this time from Open IV. YouTube at 1080P for best readability.

• Part 6. Mods or Game not working! An Overview